About Inferno

Inferno (Italian for "Hell") is the first part of Dante's Divine Comedy. The poem was written in the early 14th century. It is an allegory telling of the journey of Dante through what is largely the medieval concept of Hell, guided by the Roman poet Virgil. In the poem, hell is depicted as 9 Circles of suffering located within the earth. Allegorically, the Divine Comedy represents the journey of the soul towards God, with the Inferno describing the recognition and rejection of sin.

The 9 Circles

Circle 0: The Neutrals (Charon)
Circle 1: Limbo
Circle 2: Lust (Minos)
Circle 3: Gluttony (Cerberus)
Circle 4: Avarice & Prodigality (Plutus)
Circle 5: Anger and Sullenness (Phlegyas)
Circle 6: Heresy
Circle 7: Violence
Circle 8: The Ten Malebolge (Fraud) Circle 9: The Frozen Floor of Hell (Treachery)